The Hanna Greally Literary Awards

– Previous Winners –

The Hanna Greally Literary Awards have run every year of the SiarScéal Festival since its inception in 2008.

Previous winning entries from the first five years of the Hanna Greally Literary Awards have been published in the SiarScéal Anthology 2012: Roscommon in Reflection. It is available to buy online in print and e-book editions.

A selection of entries from 2015 and previous years' awards are included in the anthology, Centenary in Reflection, which was launched as part of the Festival programme of events. It is available to buy from our online bookshop.

2019 Awards

Overall Winner

The Burma Road Blues / Western Quartet by Michael Farry, Co. Meath

Best Poem

And from Nowhere These Old Photos by Christopher James, living in France

Best Short Story – Joint Winners

Doll Parts by Adam Trodd, Dublin

Painting the Bones of the West by Louise G. Cole, Roscommon

Highly Commended – Poems

Aging Mist by Amy Barry, Athlone

Black Boots by Patricia Donnellan, Co Clare

Highly Commended – Short Stories

The Display by Eugene McGivern, Athlone

The Visitors by James Woods, Roscommon

Borrowed Time by Maureen Harkin, Sligo

Broken by Anthony Baggott, Roscommon

A Western Medley Surprise by Frank Fahy, Galway

Ger Hanily Memorial Prize – for Sense of Place

Going Back by Anne McManus, Galway

2017 Awards

Overall Winner

Faye Boland for her poem, Peripheral

First Prize

Maureen Gallagher for her short story, The Hiring Fair

Ger Hanily Memorial Cup

Gearoid O'Brien for his poem, Go West Young Man (1920-2010)

Highly Commended

Amy Barry for Between Captivity and Villa Maria

Aisling Gormley

Rory Duffy for The Fifth Way

David Butler for Windscape

Greagoir O Duill for Donegal Beach

Bernadette Lynch for River

Also Commended

Susan Flynn for Swifts

Maureen Lydon for Meandering Beneath Western Skies

Susan Graham for Collagagh, the land at the back of the mountain

Christine Broe for In Mayo

Mary Bramley for Measured

Majella Haugh for A Letter to America

Frank Fahy for Pecking Order

Eithne Cavanagh for Galway Greys

Patrick Devaney for Millifont Visits

Jack Fallon for Farewell to the Swallows

Bernadette Bradley for Sunday in Central Park

2016 Awards

The 2016 Hanna Greally International Literary Awards were presented at the SiarScéal Festival 2016, which took place in Roscommon from 7th to 8th October.

The awards honoured Hanna Greally, author of Bird's Nest Soup and for whom the awards are named. Poet, Ann Joyce was the adjudicator. Participating schools included Roscommon Community College - CBS, the Mercy Convent, Abbey Boys NS, Castleplunkett NS and Abbeycarton NS.

2015 Awards

Details to follow

2014 Awards

Rose Morris was overall winner for her short story, The Wall. Her prize was a publishing package deal from The Manuscript Publisher. Her book, an illustrated children's tale told in verse was formally launched at the SiarSceal Festival of the following year. The Splendiferous Tale of Ferdinand Fox by Rose Morris is among the books available to buy from our online bookshop.

Previous Years

Names of other winners, from previous years, include: Joe and Teresa McClure, Geraldine Corr, Pauline Scott, Colum Clarke, Catherine Ryan, Benjamin Burns, Mike Casey, Maureen Lydon, Eileen Casey Noelle Lynskey, Maureen Gibbs, Joan Attenbury, Monika Kaboth, Doireann Ní Ghríofa, Padraig Higgins, Gbemi Shogunle, Margaret Fawcett, Karen O'Connor, Maura O'Grady, Anne Hanly, Deirdre Brennan, Susan Flynn, Michael Farry.