Welcome to SiarScéal

– organisers of the annual festival that bears its name –

SiarScéal Festival Committee are the organisers of the annual arts and literary Festival that has run every year since 2007 and takes place in Roscommon, drawing inspiration from unique culture and heritage of the Roscommon environs, together with the regional counties of Leitrim and Sligo.

Learn more

What We Do (events, competition, publications, etc)

The Hanna Greally Literary Awards (which include the Ger Hanily Memorial Cup) are held annually in conjunction with the festival. The awards are presented across categories that include local, national, international in both poetry and prose. Entries are received from all over the world, with prizes awarded in each of the categories.

Learn more

SiarScéal has sponsored the publication of books, anthologies, journals reflecting the range of talent that the festival has attracted over the years. Many of these are available to buy online, including print and e-book editions.

Learn more

Who We Are

SiarScéal is a voluntary collective, supported mainly by public subscriptions and donations. The festival and events that we organise are open to the general public; we welcome visitors from near and far. Donations that we receive, for any amount, support this work and help us to plan for future events.

Learn more

Keep in Touch

You can keep in touch with SiarScéal, receive periodic updates about future festivals, competitions, new and forthcoming publications, etc. by subscribing to our News Service.

Further information

Contact Us

Contact Us anytime if you would like to learn more about SiarScéal or become involved in any aspect of our work.

Further information


SiarScéal Festival Celebration 2023 will take place on Saturday, 21 October. See our Festival page for the full programme of events, which will include presentation of the Hanna Greally Literary Awards that run in tandem with the festival. Closing date for entries is Friday, 22 September 2023 (to be received no later than 5pm GMT). For full details of how to enter, see our Competition page.